25 South Gray Street (1)
Home / / Mapmakers Townhouse @ Newington

Mapmakers Townhouse @ Newington

Historic Edinburgh property transformed into a modern townhouse. Free parking.

Book this entire home, with private access and parking space.
Welcome to the Mapmakers Townhouse, where fascinating Edinburgh history and imposing architecture meets modern luxury, space, light and attention to detail.

We can accept 1 well behaved dog, fee applies.

This home comes with 2 free parking spaces - space number 2 & 3. All other spaces are reserved and must not be used.

Booking Requirements -
One member of the booking party must be over 25 years old. We reserve the right to vet any booking. We require names and ages of all guests, as well as addresses and ID.

- Important -
This apartment is not suitable for stag parties, hen parties, young single sex groups or parties. A damage deposit of £500 is required one week before arrival and will be fully refunded pending no damages one week after your departure.

Interior layout This three story apartment has a comfortable Living Room with lots of natural light and a cosy snug, perfect for a relaxing time with friends and family after a busy day of sightseeing. The kitchen and dining room were cleverly designed as a space that brings people together. The fully equipped galley style kitchen has with a pass through window into a large open plan Dining / Living Room, with a table that fits six for a nice meal.

Exterior For history buffs, this Townhouse once formed part of the impressive premises of the famous Bartholomew Mapmakers firm. The surrounding areas has a multitude of unique boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars.

Accessibility statement This property is set over three floors, so is not suitable for those with mobility difficulties due to the number of stairs in the property.

more...Hide

Video

Book now

Instant and secure


Location

Edinburgh, United Kingdom

View location map

Directions

However you choose to arrive please do make sure that you have spoken to the 'property manager' to arrange a time to meet you at the property on arrival as there is no reception area or onsite staff to assist you if you arrive without notice.

- Executive Car transfer
Arrive in style and relax after your journey. The Edinburgh Address can organise a transfer straight to your apartment.

- Airport Black Taxi
You can also get a taxi from the airport to your accommodation too. This can be pre booked by yourself or you can get one once you have arrived.

Parking

Free private secure-parking onsite

  • Free parking (outdoor)

What's nearby

Book now

Instant and secure

Reviews

Independently rated: 92.9%
The percentage of all customers leaving a review on Feefo.com who rated the product either 'good' or 'excellent' based on 14 user reviews of Mapmakers Townhouse @ Newington
21 Sep 2022

Review via Feefo.com

Service

The apartment was very comfortable and in a great location. Corresondence was always reliable and quick. Wonderful large windows on the main floors brought in lots of sun for most of the day. The stairway is fairly steep to get to the main floor.

Product

Correspondence was always quick and reliable.

Our response

Service rating : Thanks for your brilliant and informative review Lee, so glad you were able to enjoy the apartment's ideal location and the amazing view.
Product : Your kind words are much appreciated, please come back again soon! Thanks

19 May 2022

Review via Feefo.com

Service

This property was originally booked for my sons wedding in 2020. Due to the pandemic, it had to be cancelled twice. It was in such a good location for the wedding venue (Summerhall) and the right size for my family and I did not want to search again. Siobhan, was marvellous about cancellation and re-booking.

Product

Karen sent us a little video showing the car parking and access information. Although I didnt meet her, I spoke to her on the phone and was left in no doubt that she was available if any problems occurred.

Our response

Thanks for the perfect review.
We are so glad that you were able to finally come for the wedding.
I hope that your son had a fabulous day and please come back and stay with us again,
Siobhan

08 Apr 2022

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Impersonal. Bombarded with emails asking for money. No reaching out to ask about arrival or departure arrangements. When I reached out, got no reply to first email. When I took the initiative to say when we were leaving and to ask about keys, I was told that was fine, only to have cleaners barge in demanding access and saying we were late to leave. Checkout at 1030 is not normal in my experience and should have been flagged well in advance if it was imperative. A more normal checkout is 11.

Product

The photographs are misleading. The overall experience was very disappointing. The flat is tatty. Doesn't seem to have seen a lick of paint in years. The plastic parquet is damaged. The kitchen drawers, fridge etc are not the cleanest. And not even a teabag or a sachet of shampoo to greet a weary traveller. A washing machine but no washing powder? You expect people to buy a pack for a few days? Compared to experiences elsewhere, and in view of the price, this was a great disappointment.

Our response

Service rating : Hi Alastair,

Thanks for your feedback, we're really sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the service you received during your stay. We pride ourselves on great customer experience and take this feedback seriously.
The emails you will have received asking for money are automated when a guests balance or damage deposit is overdue.
We will be conducting a full investigation into the other grievances that you have.
Thanks.
Product : Apologies that you were not contacted regarding your check-in and that the cleaning was not up to your standards, w
e will be finding out what happened there and ensure it will not happen again.
We are also intending to paint and refresh the apartment but we have had back-to-back bookings, this is getting addressed.
Welcome packs will be going back into the property, we had to stop this during the pandemic due to covid-19 protocols.

Apologies again for the inconvenience caused during your stay.
Thanks.

06 Jan 2022

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Excellent communication.

Product

Very nice and clean property. Kitchen was a little smaller than expected.

Our response

Thanks so much for the 5 star review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh.
Please come back and stay with us again,
Siobhan

09 Oct 2020

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Sioban was a delight to work with. She recommended a great place in a good location for us to stay during our our quarantine period in Edinburgh. She was also very helpful with information on where to get groceries for delivery and transportation from the airport to our accommodation.

Product

Overall, this accommodation was great. Really nice big windows with great afternoon light. This townhouse was well equipped for a long stay.
Karen who managed this property was quick to answer questions and help out with small issues as they arose during our long stay.
I rated it down to 4 starts because there were a couple minor things that needed to be fixed in the townhouse.

Our response

Dear guest, thank you so much for this lovely review, it means a lot for our small business and our partners (Karen and the hosts).

It was an absolute pleasure to help you find the right place. You have been great guests and it would be a delight to help you book again soon.

Warm Regards,
Siobhan
The Edinburgh Address

18 Aug 2020

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Excellent location, accommodations and service through Edinburgh Address. I will definitely use again.

Product

Excellent service and quality with Edinburgh Address.

Our response

Dear Steven,

Thank you so much for the great review and for being amazing guests. It means so much to us and the host.

We are extremely glad you enjoyed your stay and it is a reward to hear you will use our services again.
Warm Regards,
Davide and everyone at The Edinburgh Address

14 Aug 2020

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Excellent, friendly phone and email communication with Siobhan - very professional service. Apartment spotless and welcoming. Edinburgh a delight as always.

Product

Excellent apartment and Karen very helpful and friendly.

Our response

Dear guest, thank you so much for this lovely review and for being such a great repeat guest.
We agree with you, Mapmakers is definitely an excellent apartment and the host will be delighted to read your review.

It is a great reward to know you are satisfied with our service and Karen's.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.

All the best,
Davide
The Edinburgh Address

26 Feb 2020

Review via Feefo.com

Service

The Edinburgh Address has a good website, administers good properties and the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. We had a personal problem that required additional help and they were cooperative and excellent; as was the owner of the property. Arrangements on arrival were fine - the contact person was there when we arrived and was friendly and helpful. So this holiday let was administered by a thoroughly competent and honest company. We would use them again.

Product

The house was clean and tidy. Basic provisions (milk, tea, etc.) were provided and there is a small supermarket minutes away. We have stayed in Mapmakers twice and would do so again. It is a spacious apartment, the rooms are a good size and there are enough bathrooms for three couples, which would make it a very economical place to stay. It has all the necessary amenities, the beds are comfortable and the heating is more than adequate for even mid-winter. The sitting room has massive windows and, therefore, lovely light. The internet connection was good. The situation is fine for Edinburgh town centre - short walk to the bus stop and plenty of buses to Princes St., etc. The off-street parking is good and reasonably secure, so you can arrive by road and forget about your car until you leave. There are lots of decent eating places within a short walk. So, all round, it’s a great place to stay for an Edinburgh visit. We would stay at Mapmakers again. Only one warning - lots of stairs, so a disabled person would struggle.

Our response

Dear guest, your positive review means so much to us. Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback and for being fantastic guests. We are very grateful that you are happy with our service, liked Mapmakers and that you will choose us again in the future.
Wishing you all the best,
From The Edinburgh Address Team

15 Feb 2020

Review via Feefo.com

Service

We had a problem with the hot water which was fixed very quickly by Karen and her team.

Product

Super service

Our response

Dear M Aislinn, thank you so much for the lovely review. It was such a pleasure to have you stay again in one of our hosts' home. They really care about their guests and we are delighted that Karen was able to help you during your stay. They would be happy to host you all again soon!

Thank you from the hosts and our team,
Davide
The Edinburgh Address

05 Mar 2019

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Great service.

Product

Excellent accommodation, with good parking. The light in the open plan sitting/dining room is to die for - we were so lucky as we visited during the unseasonably warm spell in February. Great communications with the caretaker, who met us and showed us round on arrival. We are definitely returning!

Our response

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are really glad you loved the apartment and the weather (we loved it too!). It is a great reward for us all and the Mapmakers host to know you will come back. We are looking forward to having you stay again, you have been great guests.

All the best,
Siobhan
The Edinburgh Address

13 Oct 2018

Review via Feefo.com

Service

The flat was excellent. Karen, the property manager met us and introduced us to the property in a friendly & efficient manner. That was all we needed. Thanks.

Product

I've said enough..............

Our response

Dear David,

Thank you so much for the lovely 5 star review and being fantastic guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best
The Edinburgh Address Team

24 Sep 2018

Review via Feefo.com

Service

First, we had a fabulous apartment—luminous, stylish, and very well fitted. Service was responsive and attentive. Our nearly two weeks was wonderful. we wish we could have stayed longer. Lovely.

Product

This is a beautiful, light-filled apartment with plenty of room and every amenity one could wish. We liked the location—close to very good gastro pubs, parks, and shops but just far enough away from the tourist area to be peaceful.

Our response

Dear guest,
It is a great pleasure and reward to read your review. Thank you for taking the time to write it and for being such great guests. We are really grateful that you enjoyed your stay and both the owner and ourselves hope to welcoming you all again soon.
All the best
The Edinburgh Address Team

20 Aug 2018

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Our stay was great. Townhouse was perfect for us, our son and my parents. Very comfy beds! Had everything we needed. Great location, great wifi, nicely decorated. We had a rental car so the parking was great. Property manager and owner were both very responsive. Enjoyed being close to Holyrood Park.

Product

See my other note. Propert was great!

Our response

Dear Sandy, Thank you so much for this lovely 5 star review. We are extremely glad to hear you all loved the property. We agree with you, the property manager and owner really care about creating a great experience for their guests. Of course, the 5 stars quality beds, great Wi-Fi and interior make this home ideal for a relaxing and unique stay.
You have been great guests and we hope to seeing you all again soon. All the best, The Edinburgh Address

02 Aug 2018

Review via Feefo.com

Service

Very responsive and accommodating.

Product

Well maintained, good amenities. Staff and host very friendly and helpful.

Our response

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us this 5 star positive review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and are happy with our service. You have been great guests and we hope to see you all again soon. Let us know if you are planning on visiting Edinburgh again and we will give you a Repeat Guest Discount to use or share.

All the best,
The Edinburgh Address Team

more...Hide

Guestbook reviews

Friends and I stayed at The Mapmaker's House and found it an ideal venue for our
reunion. It is ideally situated on a quiet residential road very close to a bus
route and a small supermarket. There are also many excellent restaurants nearby, some
within walking distance. The centre of Edinburgh can be reached easily by bus but to walk is
much more enjoyable and passes many interesting, historical areas and sites. The apartment
is very light and airy, beautifully furnished to a very high standard and very well equipped and has
the added advantage of secure private parking. Our stay at the House was a great success
and enjoyed by all and we highly recommend this property but possibly not for those who find
stairs a problem."

Thank you very much for all the help you gave us at The Edinburgh Address and for the return in
full of the breakage deposit. The Apartment was an ideal base for our reunion and having the
car with us meant we were able to travel further afield rather than just focus on the centre of
Edinburgh.

-

Mapmakers Townhouse @ Newington https://cdn.tribalogic.net/uploads/a2/991084.jpg Edinburgh, EH9, United Kingdom
more...Hide

Nearby properties